AWAKENINGS

Human Embryonic Stem Cell Therapy Restores Hope for Amanda

7.05.07 — Wiggly Toes!

I‘m hesitant to share because my mind has a hard time wrapping around the fact that on Monday, July 2nd I had a very slight side-to-side wiggle of my third toe on the left foot.

Wiggling Toes!

This is new and something I haven‘t observed in the past 15 1⁄2 years since becoming paralyzed. My mind wantsto BELIEVE yet part of me wonders if it is muscle spasm related. My toes on the left foot have always spasmed at certain times (along with my whole leg) but in an up-and-down movement, and not sideways. Dr. Geeta Shroff, Dr. Ashish, Chavi (my PT), and Mum all witnessed this movement repeatedly and on command. Although the response was a little delayed, when I
thought about it, the toe moved. When I stopped thinking about it, the toe stopped. Dr. Ashish
observed my second and fourth toes also moving very slightly (like a twitch) and Dr. Shroff
reported observing deep pressure with an upward and downward movement of the whole left
foot. I have done this lying down on my back with my legs straight out in front, and then
isolating the hip and sitting up with my legs straight out in front. I‘ve done this with my eyes
closed and open and all on command. Sometimes there is no response at all (the movement is
very slight). When I am fatigued, there is no movement. When I have rested, it wiggled. Again,
I want to believe that I have made this happen with my mind and not by means of a muscle
spasm. What I know for sure is that I have more of a ―mental awareness‖ of the lower extremity of my left limb. Rather than it feeling totally lifeless, I have an unexplainable awareness that I have an ankle and toes and that they are connected to my upper legs and body. This is a new observation for sure.
My nerve burning pain comes and goes with intensity and it has not changed. My physical therapy is getting more rigorous and tiresome, which also increases the burning.

Therapy with Chavi

 

Chavi makesme work really hard and continues to incorporate more complex exercises for balance, posture, strength, and flexibility. One challenging exercise is balancing on my hands and knees raising and lowering my tummy in a ―cat and camel‖ maneuver followed by crawling using my hipflexors. I have noticed my adductor muscles in my legs are getting stronger and it has only beena week and a half of treatment. Chavi is the best part of my day. She is pretty, sweet, positive,intelligent, disciplined, focused, and pulling for my every success. I adore her.

On Monday and Tuesday I had intravenous infusions of larger doses of stem cells injected into
my veins on the backside of my hands. The stem cells are mixed with a saline solution. On
Wednesday and Thursday I had two injections daily into the bicep of each arm and tomorrow,
Friday, July 6th, I will have my first spinal tap. The fifteen minute procedure is done in the
operating theater and I am then required to rest for six to eight hours afterwards, lying flat.
Doctor Shroff expects to see increased movement and progress in my limbs after this procedure.
I have learned much about Dr. Shroff‘s treatment. She has printed a very basic book that is quite
informative for a lay person like me. This treatment is ground breaking and she is working on
creating a website. Every day we hear about other treatments around the globe regarding stem
cells (fetal, umbilical cord, nasal, rats, mice etc.) and Dr. Geeta Shroff has developed the only
purely human embryonic stem cell lines that do not show any immune reaction in the body (they
do not have any antigenic proteins on their surface and thus do not require immunosuppressant
drugs). Dr. Shroff‘s technology has involved the use of just one embryo. During her laboratory
research she only used surplus embryos from and IVF donor who underwent a barrage of tests
and a complex medical history and genetic history was conducted.
This is my best explanation and is partially extracted from Dr. Shroff‘s book Human Embryonic
Stem Cells: A Revolution in Therapeutics:
In the laboratory, the sperm fertilizes an egg and it becomes a zygote and these stem cells have the highest degree of plasticity (it can develop into any cell not only into an embryo, but also the surrounding tissues, such as the placenta-the term is referred to as ―totipotent‖ stem cells).
Thirty hours after an ovum is fertilized, the zygote begins to divide. By the fifth or sixth day, the
cells form a ―blastocyst‖. These stem cells are somewhat less plastic and more specialized than
the zygote. Those on the outer surface of the blastocyst develop into the placenta and other
tissues that surround the fetus, while those inside, referred to as ―embryonic stem cells‖, become the cells of all the fetal organs and tissues. Such stem cells can differentiate into any of the more than 200 types of cells in the body and are referred to as ―pluripotent‖. The embryonic cells do not show any immune reaction as they do not have antigenic proteins on their surface. They also are able to multiply rapidly and Dr. Shroff has developed a method to extract these stem cells and create stem lines in a totally pure human product.
Human embryonic stem cells can divide and grow into any body part. However, in vivo
conditions their division is not indefinite. The cells follow the normal division that is initially
inherent in an embryo. The division slows down after a period of nine months. After the baby is
delivered, the functioning capacity gradually increases as it would in a growing child.
Milestones take place in a newborn growing into an infant and critical functions are required for
the child to progress such as environmental factors, physical (motor) factors—like my daily
physical therapy—and educational factors (learned mental development). In simple terms it
can be said that the complete effect of human embryonic stem cells transplanted into a
patient is closely linked with the time frame of the human embryo’s development. This is
including nine months of gestation; and then the growth of a new born baby after delivery up
until five years of age. Although response results in patients are seen immediately after
transplantation, the embryonic stem cells continue their developmental process as per their pre-
programmed time frame.
In my case scenario, I might be experiencing slight changes now, but as the stem cells
“home in” to the injury site in my body, they differentiate and fire up the affected tissue
and their neurons find new pathways to reconnect the synapses and the damaged tracts. I
will have to be patient with my treatment in that I may not see results for several months or
even two-to-five years down the road.
I have heard that Dr. Geeta Shroff can develop an infinite number of embryonic stem cell lines to
cure all of humanity.
All of Dr. Shroff‘s patients generally become healthier and suffer fewer bouts of infection. Their
body resistance to infection increases. The earlier a patient starts the human embryonic stem cell therapy, the faster the chances are for recovery (I have 15 years to work on as opposed to others who are more newly injured). In progressive and degenerative disorders the early start on stem cell therapy helps in stemming the disease or stabilizing the patient. Once stabilized, patients do show improvement. We have three patients suffering from motor neuron disease (like ALS) and have only been given a few months to live. With all three patients, they are stable, their condition isn‘t worsening, and they are seeing slight improvements (regaining speech, strength, breathing capacity etc).
The human embryonic stem cell treatment has been used in a number of conditions in clinical
trials. All have shown progress of some kind. To name a few: Autism; mental retardation; liver
disorders; degenerative nervous system disorders: alzheimers, parkinsons, multiple sclerosis,
motor neuron disease/ALS; cerebral palsy; traumatic brain injuries; various skin disorders; auto
immune disorders—lupus; genetic disorders—down syndrome etc.; eye disorders; kidney
disorders; musculoskeletal disorders—Duchenne‘s muscular dystrophy etc.; spinal cord injuries;
and cardiac patients. Yes, it seems that if you have problem of any sort in the body, she can fix it (especially if you are deemed terminally ill or incurable!).

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

