AWAKENINGS

Human Embryonic Stem Cell Therapy Restores Hope for Amanda

Thank God for Chanel No. 5

On Monday, January 28th I had a very traumatic spinal procedure.  The procedure was a Thoracic puncture directly into the spinal cord.  Last year in my first treatment I had this procedure done below my level of injury in the lumbar region.  This time, the procedure was conducted above my injury at approximately the T-4/5 area.  My goodness, I don’t want to EVER have this procedure again—I feel like I’ve literally been to hell and back.

In the operating theater I was asked to sit up on the operating table with my chin tucked into my chest.  I curved my back in the fetal position sitting up.  I was asked to keep very still.  Dr. Ashish swabbed my back clean instructing me not to have a shower for a couple of days.  He then anaesthetized the area and inserted a very fine needle into the spinal cord.  He proceeded to inject the human embryonic stem cells.  I felt immediate burning and warmth all over my back and down to my lumbar region.  Electrical tingles filtered to my toes.  After a brief while, Dr. Ashish asked me to lie down on my back, he tilted the operating table up and down, right and left.  I felt a huge gush of tingles on my inner left thigh.  Deep pressure filled my ears and sinus passages and I felt like I was submerged beneath fifty feet of water.  My legs felt heavy and stiff. 

The blue theater angels then carted me away to what I deem to be “my” room…201.  Not long after a humungous headache throbbed in my temples.  The headache became a migraine and soon after my vomiting began.  I vomited for a straight 25 hours.  If I couldn’t bring anything up, I still dry heaved.  Clutching a silver kidney dish, I retched until my insides ached.  Finally I ate half a pear upon strict instructions from Dr. Sharma, a beautiful young doctor who said he wasn’t leaving until I got better.  I kept the pear and a half a cup of tea down…and the vomiting ceased…yet the headache persisted.  The nurse was kind enough to give me an injection into my right thigh (the one where I can’t feel) to help with the headache.  Each time I threw up, my body sweated profusely and then I shivered for ten minutes.  I was a putrid, sweaty, sticky mess and my arm pits stunk like an Indian in a luggage store in 117 degree heat at the height of summer in Delhi.  Mum whipped out the Chanel No. 5 and splashed my wrists and neck. 

“Thank God for Chanel No. 5”, she smirked. “It goes really well with the Detol Antiseptic Soap I used to wash my bum in the shower this morning!”

And then, in her candid moment she exclaimed, “Manda, after this procedure I expect nothing less than the Can Can…and I’ll watch you do it on the webcam on Skype from home.”

Now that’s a lot to live up to…but if Mum wants the Can Can, I’ll do it. 

I say, “Thank God for MUM!”  Mum has been a pure Godsend.  When I’m sick, I want nobody else but my Mum.  She soothes my brow with her cool hand, comforts me, and is calming.  I love my Mum and I’m really thankful that she is here.  (Mum’s are also great when purses are snatched and you’re left stranded without a cent to call your own.)  Thank you Mum for your patience, perseverance, and unconditional love. 

Two days later, I still have a headache, but I’m strong enough to write as I sit propped up on three pillows in bed.  I had a light physical therapy session with Chavi–legs only!  Any exercise in the sitting position caused tremendous dizziness and made my headache worse.  While this procedure is the roughest on the body, it usually produces the most improvement in patients.  In my light therapy session today, Chavi noticed that I was stronger as I performed one exercise lying on my right hip, with my left leg bent.  I was able to assist her lifting my inner thigh and left knee upwards for the first time.  Wow.  Chavi was impressed.  Improvement already!

Dr. Ashish expects it to take seven days to fully recover from this procedure, which will be just enough time for me to begin the next procedure.  I can’t help but think—I volunteered for this pain…but as the saying goes, “No pain, no gain!”  I am keeping the big picture in mind.  I shall walk into this hospital one day!

As I type this little/long communiqué—yes, I know, it’s long overdue…Mum has gone shopping with Val. 

Val is here with Lorraine who has ALS and is also receiving her second HESC treatment.  Lorraine looks fabulous—I mean, she actually looks younger.  Remember, HESCs are an anti-aging remedy too.  Lorraine has stopped drooling, her face is more alert, she is walking with perky steps and retains her great sense of humor.  Mum, Lorraine and Val are all similar ages, so the girls get on well and their room is warmer than ours. 

Mum and Val entertained themselves with a little shopping experience purchasing shoes and clothing this afternoon.  Delhi is always under construction and sidewalks don’t exist, except in the more posh parts of town.  On one particular sidewalk, which was literally a foot wide, the two negotiated a deep rocky trench.  Having both made a purchase from a store they were rewarded with a gift in the shape of a small square white box. 

“What do you think ’s in this box?” asked Mum.

“It’s probably a condom.”

“That’d be really useful for us.”

Val exclaimed, “We could put it on our noses so we don’t have to breathe in the Delhi dust.” 

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

