AWAKENINGS

Human Embryonic Stem Cell Therapy Restores Hope for Amanda

Where There’s Life, There is Hope

Where there’s life, there is hope.

What is a miracle?  Is it something that is scientifically impossible or an act of Divine intervention?  I see a miracle as faith realized when I pay reverence for the grace God has given me.  Peace enters my soul.

At Dr. Geeta Shroff’s hospital, I continue to witness miracles taking place regularly.  Mike Chan, an incomplete quadriplegic who was wheelchair bound last summer, returned to India from Hong Kong walking!  When I met Mike in July last year, he could barely lift his torso with his arms and hands pressing down on his wheels.  These past few weeks, I saw Mike walk without calipers, standing over six feet tall with a grin from ear to ear.  Yes, Mike Chan is WALKING. 

Krishna is a young Indian lady who sustained a spinal cord injury from a tumor on the spinal cord nine years ago.  Krishna is now walking and she took her first steps without calipers three weeks ago.  Her legs are getting stronger each day.  As I watched both Mike Chan and Krishna, I saw miracles taking place before my own eyes.  I held the faith in my own healing and believed with absolute conviction that I too will continue to improve.  If they can do it, I can too!

jan08-india-023.jpg

Krishna walks without leg braces (she has ankle braces only as her feet still drop).

Returning to India and observing the other patient’s progress instills hope in me and keeps my faith alive.  Each patient encourages the other.  I have heard it said that “Where there’s life, there is hope”.  Human Embryonic Stem Cells give life, and hence they give hope. 

Each patient shows improvement.  Rusty Leech, Louis Micelli, and Tim Dunne, all paraplegics who have finished their first treatment with Dr. Geeta Shroff, have improved.  Rusty Leech (www.RustyWithoutWheels.com) was a complete T10 spinal cord injury for almost ten years.  After two months of HESC treatment, he has some bladder and bowel control; deep muscle sensation in his hips; stronger lower abdominal muscles; some return of his gluteal muscles; he can feel muscle contraction in his quads and inner thighs (more in his right leg); and he has slight toe wiggles.

Martin, a visually impaired diabetic patient, has almost normal blood sugar levels and is down to just one insulin injection per day.  His diabetes has improved by 50% since HESC treatment.  Martin’s kidneys are normal for the first time in his life since childhood, and he is peeing on his own (Martin catheterized for many, many years until receiving HESCs).  Miraculously, Martin’s eye sight is improving.  He is now wearing spectacles and is able to distinguish between colors.  Martin is a true hero.  Amazingly he has made these huge strides on his own, leaving his wife and twin six-year-old children in Australia.  Martin has more courage than anyone.

As for me, my strength increases and I am showing promise of more movement in my upper thighs and abdominal area.  When I void urine on my own, the flow is steady and it takes less effort (especially after two cups of coffee in the morning).  I will have a three-day procedure beginning Monday and I will be a brave girl as I enter into the procedure on my own without Mum or a caregiver to support me.  I feel so blessed to be granted this opportunity to receive HESCs and to allow my body the time it deserves to heal and gain strength.  My heart spills over with gratitude like a river swollen after heavy rain—flowing and always transforming. 

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

