AWAKENINGS

Human Embryonic Stem Cell Therapy Restores Hope for Amanda

Improvements/changes in my body after my second treatment of HESCs

·         Heightened sensitivity and overall awareness in body and lower extremities.

·         Nerve burning pain has dissipated during the course of both first and second treatments.  Yet, during my most recent three-day procedure, the pain intensified and bled into my right hip and right thigh for the first time.  (Dr. Ashish Verma was pleased to hear that the procedure induced pain in the right side.)

·         My torso and abdominal core strength is outstanding.  It is stronger than ever!  When I hold my arms up above my head and lean to either side, I can hold the position for a few counts without falling over.

·         The quadriceps muscle at the front of my right thigh is stronger—when I sit on the side of the bed, I am able to slightly kick my right leg extending it up and out (which is greater than the left leg).  Last year I couldn’t do this movement at all.

·         The inner thigh muscle on my left leg is stronger.  Before the second treatment, there was no movement at all.  I can now lift my thigh against gravity.

·         Kneel balancing has improved.  I am more stable keeping my hips forward and holding a count to twenty with a lighter hand grasp on my partner’s arms.  My hips wobble less and I am more confident.

·         My muscle bulk has increased in my thighs and calf muscles.

·         My spasticity and swelling has decreased.

While I haven’t seen radical changes to my body this second time around, I remind myself that one percent or an iota of change is miraculous.  I am certain that my body will continue to get stronger after I have returned home to Colorado and progress with physical therapy and yoga regularly.

I am a Warrior of Light.  I will continue to hold strong, bravely fighting the odds, while feeling illuminated in love and healing.  I believe in the impossible. 

“A Warrior of Light is someone capable of understanding the miracle of life, of fighting to the last for something he believes in.”

– Paulo Coelho

Namaste, Amanda xoxo

P.S. Home on Tuesday, February 19th with prayers for calm blue skies and sunshine!

3 Comments»

  JEFF wrote @

HI AMANDA: CHECKING ON YOUR PROGRESS & RUSTY’S AS WELL. YOU BOTH CONTINUE TO SOUND UPBEAT & ENTHUSIASTIC.

GOOD SHOW!

WISHING YOU BOTH CONTINUED SUCCESS AND IMPROVEMENT.

CHEERS JEFF

  Randi & Terry wrote @

We are so glad to hear of your continuing progress and improvements! Bet that Tucker is glad to see you home…

Hope that you’ve had a chance to get some quality skiing in this winter – we think of you often.

with love,
Randi & Terry Young
South Fork, CO

  harpa wrote @

Hi Amanda, I like to know if you have got more sensitive in your lower body –
are you able to find any pain or movement in your muscles or muscular contraction when you are moving your legs?

Keep going with good work
Bye
Harpa


Leave a Reply

