AWAKENINGS

Human Embryonic Stem Cell Therapy Restores Hope for Amanda

Lorraine Glendenning

Val Erwin (left) with her beloved friend, Lorraine

This afternoon I received the sad words from my mother in Australia that our beloved friend and stem cell pioneer Lorraine Glendenning passed Monday, June 30th at approx. 2:55 p.m. (East Australian time).  While Dr. Geeta Shroff’s human embryonic stem cell treatment extended her life briefly enabling Lorraine to gain enough strength to dance, sip champagne and laugh again with her beloved friend Val Erwin, her Motor Neurone Disease finally won and took her life. 
 
Lorraine, you will be missed by many–especially Val, your best friend of thirty-seven years.  I am humbled by your bravery and courage.  Our universe beats as one and time nor distance has no meaning.  I felt you pass last night as I lay my head on the pillow and reached to turn out the light.  I felt you in my restless sleep.  My intuition told me that you had moved on to another realm filled with love and free of pain.  You were there as a symbol of eternal courage and strength for me all through the night, reminding me about the power of forgiveness and instilling in me the strength to not give up, but embrace and accept my challenges as opportunities to overcome and transform.   
 
Val, my heart bleeds for your loss. 
 
With so much love and my sincere condolences,
 
Amanda
A personal note from Dr. Geeta Shroff:

One day, I was pleasantly surprised to see two beautiful ladies in my hospital and upon talking to them, I realized how brave, caring and full of life Lorraine & Val were. Despite her condition, Lorraine always had a smile on her face. Lorraine & Val became our friends and brought in a lot of positivity to the whole hospital. As a patient, Lorraine understood how stem cells worked, and I wish that the therapy could have continued without a break. I will always remember her dancing while walking with the walker, her smile when Val’s 60th birthday cake was being cut, her laughter & enthusiasm when she showed me the book she was writing, her positive attitude, her love for Val and her son. I will forever cherish these memories.

Geeta Shroff

1 Comment»

  gautam lakra wrote @

hello amanda,

I am a paraplegic and i wanted to know the latest improvement which you have felt. You have not really posted much of late of the new feelings or sensations that you have had.

regards,

Gautam Lakra


Leave a Reply

