AWAKENINGS

Human Embryonic Stem Cell Therapy Restores Hope for Amanda

Monday, Nov. 3rd, 2008–Eve of US Election

“If you want society to change, you have to change yourself, as we are all ‘co-responsible’.

 –Thay (the 85 year old Vietnamese Zen Buddhist monk, Thich Nhat Hanh)

 

On the eve of the biggest election that has captivated the world’s attention, I sit in my hospital room in India 12 ½ hours ahead of the US listening to a Tibetan flute whisper ethereal sounds as morning light filters through my corner windows.  Incense burn, a fan whirls overhead, and a candle is lit.  This is how I begin each day.  I sit in my own pilgrimage to peace as a sense of anticipation sweeps across America.  The clocks fell back an hour Sunday morning yet America ticks forward closer to a decision that will change the way the world views the prosperous land…and also how the American people will view their next leader while Washington looks back at the world.  I contemplate the influence of the US superpower over the world’s state of affairs.  One person can make a difference…one person being our next President, and one person meaning myself.  Now that I am a proud American citizen, I cast my vote before my departure for India.  As hard as I try to remain connected to the United States, the greater part of me is thankful to be abroad: to be free of the hype, the insanity, and a bruising campaign that has lasted nearly two years and cost more than $1 billion between both parties (and a reported estimated overall cost close to $5 billion including Congressional polls).  I am appalled by the outlay of money this election has gobbled up.  I choose to focus on my body healing with an ear that will be tuned in to the outcome of tomorrow. 

I understand that change is imminent, and that change ultimately reverts to each individual.  The only person I can change is me.  I have the power and ability to create the world around me each moment from now, the next minute, five minutes from now, the next hour, day, evening, and tomorrow.  My thoughts affect me and others.  I believe we each share a responsibility to be the change we want and aspire toward for ourselves, our surroundings, and our respective countries.  I practice emanating peace, love, compassion, happiness, and gratitude so that complete transformation can take place.  Of course, these feelings are amplified given the diversity of this paradoxical country, and the hardships that are literally in my face each time I roll beyond the walls of this hospital.  If an Indian who has nothing but a small cloth tied around his waist is able to cast a sincere smile wishing me Namaste, I too can smile back with hands in prayer filling my being with immense gratitude.  The sacred symbol of Om has become emblematic of Brahman (absolute reality) inferring “I am only one.  May I become many.”  Om is symbolic for me too.  I am the change I wish to see in the world.

1 Comment»

  Kim from Australia wrote @

Dont you mean Om-bama!

I am really glad he won 🙂

I hope he can live up to his promises. I think that hope maybe shared by a just a few other 🙂


Leave a Reply

