AWAKENINGS

Human Embryonic Stem Cell Therapy Restores Hope for Amanda

Grounded in Delhi…and the Ultimate Gift

The Ultimate Gift is the gift of prayer felt from others around the globe.  I have felt your prayers these past few days from my hospital bed in Room 208 in Delhi.  The bad news is that I never boarded the plane and I am still grounded in Delhi.  This spinal headache has taken its toll and I am now reaching the end of Day 8.  For three days I haven’t had an intravenous drip pumping fluids into my veins so I am on the mend for sure.  My headache persists and I can sit up in my wheelchair for a little over an hour at a time.  Otherwise I am propped up at a three-quarter-position in bed for most of the day.  The good news is that I am improving day by day.  I hope to rebook a flight home this weekend.

It hasn’t been all bad-my bed has become a throne of sorts. I have been spoiled like a princess from this divan by nurses and therapists.  With forced bed rest, I now have elaborate henna tattooed Mehndi designs covering the insides of both hands with glittery silver fingernails and toenails.  Chavi and Rizwana are quite the Mehndi experts with their talents stretching beyond their physical therapy roles.  “I was born amazing!” said Chavi when I complimented her fine work.  We giggled together like sisters.

april-09-last-days-012

april-09-last-days-004

It was Dr. Shroff’s orders… “Make Amanda feel special.”  I even have a fancy red-black-glittery evening suit to wear, chosen by Dr. Shroff for Dr. Sudeep’s wedding (which I couldn’t attend).  The wedding has come and gone…but, I am feeling better, my fingers and toes sparkle, and my tattooed hands remind me of the love that surrounds me in my home away from home.  In my sickness, I have been uplifted and adored.  I have wept tears of gratitude back for those who have made me feel so special, near and far.

My ticket is cancelled and I will rebook when I know that I am able to fly (which will hopefully be within the next few days).  My close friends have been phenomenal.  Zander is prepared to jump on a plane at a moment’s notice, and Tucker has been handed off to CP (Sweet Pea) as Gabrielle’s father-in-law passed away.  It’s been a difficult time all around.  There are many people far worse than me suffering life’s challenges.  I have comfort knowing there is light on the other side of my rainbow filled with love, strength, and GREAT health. 

On March 14th, the day before I arrived in Delhi, I cross-country skied twelve miles to see the Maroon Bells and back with my very patient friend Annie Farris and spunky dog, Tucker.  Tucks ran circles around us he was so happy.  I felt so strong although I inched my way uphill to just get a glimpse of those iconic and majestic peaks.  I was in God’s country.  As I sat in meditation with the sun beaming on my face I met a man snow shoeing the opposite direction pulling a toboggan.  He looked pretty hard core.  When I inquired further I discovered that he had just descended from the summit of Maroon Peak (South Maroon) SOLO!  For those unfamiliar with Colorado’s 14ers, the peak sits at 14,156 feet high.  Steve Gladbach was humble in his reply back to me, nonchalantly downplaying his athletic prowess at the remarkable journey he had just undertaken.  To see a glimpse of his amazing photos and description from his trip, visit this link: http://14ers.com/php14ers/tripreport.php?trip=5724&cpgm=tripmain.

As I sit propped up on three pillows on top of a striped blue and white bedcover, my mind bends back to the same vivid cobalt blue in the sky and the crisp white of the snow beneath my cross-country ski.  I think of Steve Gladbach, Annie, and of course my Tucker.  I feel the clean air deeply in my lungs and I am reminded that the human spirit has no limitation.

I will see that blue sky soon.  I will be strong in my body…and I will show little incremental improvements in my limbs in the coming months to make this trip all worthwhile.  I keep this in my mind’s eye.

I will let you all know when Blastoff occurs…and of course, when the eagle has landed safely and snuggly in the Roaring Fork Valley.

With so many blessings for your prayers, love and healing light from Delhi…

Namaste, Amanda xoxo

Prayer of Affirmations – A Navajo Indian Prayer

 

O you who dwell in the house made of the dawn,

In the house made of the evening twilight. . .

Where the dark mist curtains the doorway,

The path to which is on the rainbow. . .

I have made your sacrifice.

I have prepared a smoke for you.

 

My feet restore for me.

My limbs restore for me.

My body restore for me.

My mind restore for me.

My voice restore for me.

 

Today, take away your spell from me.

Away from me you have taken it.

Far Off from me you have taken it.

 

Happily I recover.

Happily my interior becomes cool.

Happily my eyes regain their power.

Happily my head becomes cool.

Happily my limbs regain their power.

Happily I hear again.

Happily for me the spell is taken off.

 

Happily I walk.

Impervious to pain, I walk.

Feeling light within, I walk. . .

In beauty I walk.

With beauty before me, I walk.

With beauty behind me, I walk.

With beauty below me, I walk.

With beauty all around me, I walk.

 

It is finished in beauty.

It is finished in beauty.

It is finished in beauty.

1 Comment»

  Euclides – Brasil wrote @

I will be praying a lot for you, and by the other that are in unfavorable terms.

Hugs


Leave a Reply

