AWAKENINGS

Human Embryonic Stem Cell Therapy Restores Hope for Amanda

Round Six of Stem Cells in Delhi–May 25-June 22, 2010

Namaste from Delhi.  I’m back!  I feel like a chicken roasting in a tandoor oven as Delhi sweats it out in soaring forty degree Celcius temps.  Due to the generosity of my community and some special donors, I was destined to revisit this paradoxical city for my sixth stem cell treatment in the height of summer.  Last week reached a stifling 48°C (118°F)—too unbearable to brave rolling beyond the cool of the indoors. 

I’ve been marinating in soaring heat for more than ten days so I’m ‘bout cooked through and ready to be served up kebab style… Here’s the recipe I learned firsthand: 

 

Authentic Tandoori Amanda

Location:  South Delhi

Oven Temperature:  Make sure your tandoor oven is at its hottest by cranking the heat from the third week of May to the first week of June

Prep Time:  About 7-10 days

Ingredients and Preparation

Skin and trim Amanda’s white chicken flesh of all visible fat (which doesn’t leave much meat given 18 years of atrophy but it fits in with Delhi’s meager chicken servings); marinate in Delhi dust, Purell hand sanitizer, jasmine incense, and sweat for more than a week; mince together more Delhi crud found on her wheels (spit balls with beetlenut); throw in a dash of lemon, crushed ginger root, 1 tablespoon of cumin and a teaspoon of ground coriander, cardamom, cayenne pepper, cloves, two teaspoons of salt, and a few cockroaches to taste.  Rub the mixture into Amanda’s flesh really well, turning her over several times.  Cover and marinate for another few days so that she smells like the armpit of a sweaty Indian.  Brush her flesh with oil and roast in the tandoor oven turning once.  Beware of dust storms from the northwest although a few more mouthfuls of dirt add to the flavor.  When she is completely dehydrated and all the juices have run clear when pieced near the bone with a knife, she’s done!  Serve her up with a sprig of cilantro and a few slices of cucumber, onion, tomato and lemon—a classic Indian salad—and Voila, she’s ready for consumption (or cremation).

Despite Delhi’s rocketing heat index, my purpose for this trip is even more definitive.  I am here not as a tourist and not to expire in Delhi’s sweltering heat, but for one main goal:  that is to be nurtured within the womb of the hospital and receive the gift of life with human embryonic stem cells.  I will exercise with physical therapy twice a day, six days a week, and strengthen and tone my flaccid body after a gruelingly long and bitter Colorado winter.  I feel blessed and grateful for this opportunity. 

Walking on the treadmill at the Aspen Club twice a week has paid off.  Chavi recorded more muscle mass in my thighs although I argue it’s just flab.  These past six months I have noticed subtleties such as increased sensation in my legs, an amplified ability to feel hot and cold temperatures particularly in my thighs, and my walking is more erect and consistent with stable foot placement and greater proprioceptive feedback.  Last Friday Dr. Ashish injected me with a double dosage of stem cells into my cauda equina below my spinal cord and saturated my lower abdominal cavity.  My bladder almost immediately became stronger making peeing just a little easier.  J

One is never alone in Delhi.  I share my bathroom with a family if pigeons and new chicks that squeak and squawk.  They seem to have made a nest in the exhaust fan above the shower.  I haven’t dared turn on the fan and hope they are tucked in nicely to the alcove escaping the heat.  I read in the Hindustan Times that a local bird hospital has 6,000 cages filled with various Delhi birds that have suffered from heat stroke.  Yes, Delhiites are compassionate through and through to all living things.

I feel that my time here is blessed indeed.  Each morning I wake, light my Tuberose Gardenia candle which sits behind a little sacred wishing stone from my friend Annie; a small Ganesh from Geeta; and a healing Himalayan quartz crystal.  With Tara’s mala beads in my left hand, I recite Om Mani Padme Hung and fill my being with gratitude.  I create the divine space within my physical body to welcome the stem cells into a pure and perfect self.  I think of possibility.  I see and feel myself walking.  I voice out aloud what has become my personal mantra:  “I mercifully accept the body that is mine.  I surround myself in a rainbow of healing light and possibility.  I embody divine perfection.  I love my legs.  I love my body.  I am who I am.  I am Amanda.”

Thank you to my Angels who helped bring me back to India.  When I put my intention out to the Universe, everything serendipitously fell into place so I could do one more stem cell treatment in Delhi.  I will do my very best to keep reaching for that distant star in pursuit of the best quality of life possible. 

Namaste, love, gratitude, and joyous light,

Amanda

1 Comment»

  kelley kalafatich wrote @

HI Amanda, I have been following your progress and how you are doing in India. I have a question about Dr. Shroff….I remember us talking about this but I have forgotten what you said.
Question: Why is it that Dr. Shroff is unable to share her findings (hesc)? Is is because she wants to patent it first? Blessings to you and good luck with everything. I really look forward to seeing you walking!! love love love, kelley


Leave a Reply

